T306 Block 1: Activity 14

Examine the initial responses you identified in the light of the stakeholding you identified earlier in Activity 13.

Are they related in any way?

The previous activity shows that I do lean towards social justice, but that I also have some moderate conservative views. I did economics at A-level and I formed some fairly conservative fiscal views then. My views have turned more left these days (I’m certainly socially liberal) but I guess I’m still a moderate fiscal conservative.

I’m conflicted by situations like this. I understand where the government was coming from but appalled by what actually happened. I firmly believe that social justice should take priority over wealth generation, but also that individuals shouldn’t expect the unnecessary handouts when times get hard. Keep people from falling through the poverty trap but don’t incentivise them to sit at home all day sipping from the cup of government pity.

It’s a tricky balancing act for any government and nobody anywhere in the world has ever managed to achieve a “perfect” outcome. I’m not even sure if it’s possible.

Anyway, the CSA failed most people it served badly, and government mistakes resulted in smaller savings than previously anticipated.

Leave a Reply

