T214: Case Study 3 – peer-to-peer networking and the music industry

This case study involves looking at the effect that Napster had on the music industry. It seems ancient history now – it’s only ten years ago, but that’s a millennium in Internet terms – but the repercussions from Napster’s appearance are still relevant today. At least, that’s what I hope I will find from my research.

There are some questions I need to answer from this exercise. These are as follows:

  1. How did Napster get started?
  2. What motivated its founders?
  3. What resources were required to launch the service?
  4. What challenges did it pose to the existing order?
  5. What were the benefits of the system to its users?
  6. In what way was the arrival of Napster an important moment in the evolution of the internet, and why?
  7. What was its legacy?

How did Napster get started?

Well, I kind of ran out of time before doing much on this so there are no answers here. I kind of winged it, and no doubt my mark will reflect my half-arsed attempt at research.

I may come back to this at a later date (but I doubt it)…

Leave a Reply

