Complexity

 

Complexity, originally uploaded by rutty.

7/365

I’m a software tester. I didn’t realise this until about seven or eight years into my testing career – my role was a bit of a hybrid of job types – but for over ten years I have tested software, both application software and embedded.

I love it, because I’m a bit sad like that. I love a technical challenge and my job regularly provides me with problems to uncover. I’m not bad at it either.

I like to read the testing trade magazines (like the pictured TEST magazine) and these often cover areas of my job role that I don’t necessarily get involved in myself. I think that keeping up to date with career skills is important, otherwise you get stale and stuck in a rut, so to speak.

I decided a couple of years ago to start a degree in Computing and Systems Practice from the Open University. It fitted in nicely with both my career plans and personal interests, and next month I’ll be starting a level 2 sixty-pointer module called Understanding systems: making sense of complexity. This module is one of two key modules from my chosen degree and I think it will help no end with my career.

Everything I work on requires me to consider how it works as a system, how each part interacts and interferes with other parts. I’m really looking forward to getting stuck into it, although I have the previous module to finish off too. There is overlap. I’m going to be very busy for the next few months

Leave a Reply

