Break out the vuvuzelas

Break out the vuvuzelas

Break out the vuvuzelas, originally uploaded by rutty.

175/365

Today was the “Ericsson World Cup” where twenty teams from various UK Ericsson sites turn up at a St Albans sports ground to play five-a-side football.

Well, it’s better than working (in a soon-to-be closed site)

We had some excellent weather so I took the factor 40 along so that I didn’t catch on fire. I managed to blind a few people with my white legs, which was amusing.

What wasn’t amusing was my ability to injure myself. I was only ever going to be an emergency substitute (I’m crap at football and I have two bad knees) but I joined in the kickabout before the games started. I managed to go about fifteen minutes without hurting myself but I then made the stupid mistake of jumping to head the ball.

This was too much for my left knee which twisted (with a nice grinding noise) and crippled me. I’m not walking like I’ve done something in my pants.

To make things worse our team managed to go the whole group stage without scoring a goal. At least we drew one game and got some free food.

Leave a Reply

