Shock but no awe

I have a lot to be happy about at the moment. I have an amazing wife – I am so lucky to have her – and a healthy, beautiful daughter. I love my girls more than anything. We live in a nice part of the UK (Beeston in Nottingham) and have lots of great friends. I love my hobbies (brass banding and photography especially) and have many other reasons to be happy.

Life is great, but this was somewhat tempered yesterday by a rather shit day at work. My company, Ericsson, has come to the surprising decision to close our site in Ansty near Coventry. This is where I work and means that I will no longer have a job come the middle of next year.

I can almost understand their decision to move R&D activities overseas – much of it has already done so and most of our competitors already have strong presences in China and India – but we’d only moved into this building in June and thought that we’d be safe for a little while. How wrong we were.

You have to be philosophical about it, to a degree, and say “well, let’s take this as an opportunity to find a better job closer to home”, but I can’t adequately express how gutting this is, to lose a job that I enjoy.

It is just that – a job – and I’m confident that I can find something else, but at the moment I’m angry and upset at this decision. Understandably so. Outsourcing to low-cost countries is essential for companies wanting to be competitive in a world economy but the consequences to workers, and their families, in the so-called “developed” countries is extremely depressing. No doubt some of those sites that have escaped this time will suffer the same fate in the not-too-distant future.

I’m luckier than most. I have a talented wife who can look after me financially if I need to, but I don’t want that. I want my own meaningful career and that’s something that I’m going to make sure that I continue once this job expires sometime in Q2 2010.

I’m not letting this get me down, not too much. My anger and upset will pass and I still love my time with my wife and daughter. Life is still good – there’s just a nasty smudge appeared that will disappear sooner or later.

One thought on “Shock but no awe

Leave a Reply

