Excellent timing

I finished work at 2pm today (early shift) and got in the car to come home. I figured I’d like to listen to something half decent on the drive back and decided, wisely, to not bother with Radio One.

I selected Iron Maiden – Powerslave on my iPhone and plugged it in. The first, classic chords of Aces High set me on my way.

I love this album. When I were a lad (Yorkshire colloquialism there) I had a mate called Kev, and he got me into Iron Maiden, Saxon and AC/DC. I bought Live After Death, which inevitably led me to getting Powerslave. Both albums remain among my favourites, but there’s something amazing about Powerslave; it’s probably one of just a handful of albums that are perfect five stars all the way in iTunes.

Anyway, I headed up the M69 to Two Minutes to Midnight and pulled off the M1 near the start of Rime of the Ancient Mariner.

Now, Mariner may well be my favourite metal tune of all time. It’s got everything: pompous, overblown lyrics, incredible guitars and a helium-fueled singer at the height of his powers. This song is amazing.

I had a fantastic drive back. The sun was out, BMW drivers were (mostly) courteous and I was only barged out of the way once by White Van Man. Powerslave was my lucky talisman today, and by an astonishing bit of luck I just happened to pull up outside our house just as Bruce was warbling the final refrain:

The mariner’s bound to tell of his story
To tell this tale wherever he goes
To teach God’s word by his own example
That we must love all things that God made.

And the wedding guest’s a sad and wiser man
And the tale goes on and on and on.

Now, obviously Taylor Coleridge wasn’t up on evolution so I’ll ignore the Creationist nonsense in the lyrics and just admire the general awesomeness of Iron Maiden’s magnificent creation.

Leave a Reply

