A Valentine’s Day Question

So, on this most romantic day of the calender I’d like to pose an important question: did Tyrannosaurus Rex have a penis?

I know, I know – why the hell am I going on about dinosaur knobs? I’m not the one that started it though – have a read of this rather wonderful article about this very subject from Olivia Judson.

I want to take a journey 68 million years back in time to see a Tyrannosaurus rex couple mating. What was it like? Did they trumpet and bellow and stamp their feet? Did they thrash their enormous tails? Did he bite her neck in rapture and exude a musky scent? Somehow, I imagine that when two T. rex got it on, the earth shook for miles around.

And if I could only take this journey, I could answer a question that sometimes bothers me. Did T. rex have a penis? Did he even, as lizards do, have two?

Two! I have no idea how many the old boys would have had, but one thing is for certain – they wouldn’t have been able to reach it/them with those little arms.

Still, have a read of her article. It’s really interesting and she obviously knows her stuff.

One thought on “A Valentine’s Day Question

  1. Oh no, my first thought was about the short arms, I’m thinking like Rutty now 😦

    Though on the bright side I haven’t been searching round to perv on extinct reptiles 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

