Bloody WordPress!

Would you Adam and Eve it?

I’ve been a little bit slow to update WordPress since a new version came out a few weeks ago. Well, I went on holiday and everything so I had far more important things to be doing.

So, yesterday I decided to actually go ahead and get it done. I’d downloaded and extracted the upgrade earlier and uploaded the files to the server, overwriting the older versions.

Well, that’s what I wanted to do. Seeing as I’m now on my iMac I’m using this thing called Cyberduck to FTP my files to my hosted server. Cyberduck isn’t the most elegant or feature-packed FTP program in the world but it works, which is nice seeing as Apple don’t seem fit to provide one with OSX. Why, Apple, why?

Anyway, Cyberduck doesn’t really provide me with anything like enough information when things go wrong. For instance – my wireless connection can be pretty flaky. I’m fairly sure that this is to do with my Sky-provided Linksys router, but who knows? Leopard has been know to have wireless issues, but our XP laptop often drops its connection too. This is a problem when FTPing large quantities of files across the ether and I have to keep reconnecting my FTP program every time it fails.

I eventually uploaded everything but my site was completely trashed, giving an error message regarding one of the included files. It seems that WordPress does not upgrade very elegantly at all, something that Movable Type has a big advantage with. Once you start uploading your files your site is screwed! Movable Type bypasses this by having static files (if you configure it that way) so you can update your backend without affecting your site at all. WordPress? Toast. For hours, considering how long it took to upload all my files, and then it was still broken after some important includes somehow broke on the way.

Not good WordPress. Still, my shite wireless isn’t your fault and I was able to sort it my re-uploading all the includes again.

Then, in order to compound my annoyance, WordPress have announced another upgrade. Today!

Sod it. I’m leaving it for a few weeks.

5 thoughts on “Bloody WordPress!

  1. hehe, sounds like you had fun. Unless the upgrade is a major security issue then I wouldn’t worry about keeping on top of every upgrade. I just upgraded a v1.5 blog to 2.3.2 as i felt I should!

    i tend to do my WP upgrades by steps. I’ll delete the wp-admin and the upload the new one. Then I’ll delete the root files and the wp-includes. Then upload the wp-includes, followed by all the other root files besides the index.php. Once I know everything else is online I’ll put up index.php.

    If you think the downtime is an issue you could put up an index.html file as a holding file, or just lock the entire domain with a upgrade notice. There is also the wp-cache plugin which will create the static pages that sound similar to MT.

    Like

  2. Bet you didn’t deactivate your plugins did you 😉

    You’re better to delete the existing files and then upload rather than overwriting the old ones.

    With minor upgrades you can usually find which files have changed and just upgrade those ones.

    Like

  3. I haven’t got any plugins just yet 😉

    A holding page seems like a bloody good idea. I shall hold back on updating index.php next time, doing the Admin first.

    Thanks for the tips! I do like WordPress but it’s not without its little niggles for me. Just like Movable Type then..

    Like

  4. “I do like WordPress but it’s not without its little niggles for me. Just like Movable Type then..”

    It’s just a different system that you’ll need to get used to. As Toxie says, the best way is to delete everything and then reupload – which is what’s suggested on the WordPress Codex under the extended upgrade instructions. If you follow those then in all probability the only potential problems are going to be with plugin compatability.

    Like

Leave a Reply

