15 Answers to Creationist Nonsense

I’ve been taking an interest in Atheism recently and have been reading up on various aspects of non-belief. I have a couple of friends at work that are raging heathens, which is nice, and we’ve had a few discussions concerning the non-existence of God.

My current toilet-reading is The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins. He’s an entertaining scientist and broadcaster and has lots of very persuasive ideas. He communicates his non-belief in a way that even a numb-skull like me can understand.

One of my favourite websites is Newsvine. They have a group devoted to Atheism and I often find that other people have seeded some really interesting articles from elsewhere on the web. One of those, seeded today, is an article from 2002 by Scientificamerican.com. It sets out 15 answers to the usual Creationist arguments to evolution.

Evolution is something that hits right at the heart of Creationism. Whereas it can never prove that God does not exist it does show how every species on Earth has developed. If you show that it is possible, and probable, that all living life has developed over billions of years by the process of Natural Selection, then there’s no reason to believe that some external intelligence has designed everything.

It doesn’t seem rational, to me, to assume that God just poofed everything into existence. It’s just not logical.

However, if I’m to sway from my decades-long membership of the Agnosticism Club then I’ve got an awful lot of reading to do. I want to maintain an open mind and whereas I’m finding the arguments for Atheism particularly convincing I should also take it upon myself to read up on the Supernatural. Even if I’m not persuaded by religious arguments at least I’ll find it all very interesting.

In the meantime it’s back to Dawkins for me.

Leave a Reply

