Porkathon

Ah, food. My favourite subject. Christmas is probably the only time of year where it’s considered essential to stuff your face full of spectacularly unhealthy food, and so I’m delighted to be taking part in the annual Porkathon at work.

It works like this: everyone gets weighed before Christmas and weighed again when you get back in January. For every pound that you put on over the festive season you have to pay a fine of £1 towards the designated charity. If you lose weight then you have to pay £2 a pound.

Seems fun! This year’s charity is the very worthy Macmillan Cancer Support, a charity that I happened to perform in a concert for last night. Feel free to send a donation in that direction if you want to.

I’ve been weighed already and I was 174.6 pounds, which for my height is a BMI of about 22.4. Quite a healthy weight really. I’m more than willing to push towards a BMI of 25 (i.e. the fatty value) for charity. Stuffing my face full of turkey and Christmas cake sounds a lot more fun than a sponsored walk.

Bring on the mince pies!

Leave a Reply

