Attack of the Phish

I updated Firefox to version 2.0 yesterday and so far I’m liking it. I’m till getting used to the way that the tabs have changed, but so far I’m feeling positive about the new build. It’s not hugely different, to be honest, but I think a lot of changes are under the hood.

One of these changes is an anti-phishing tool. There are all sorts of unscrupulous bastards out there and this tool is ideal for helping those foolish enough to click on those badly-spelled emails from banks that you don’t even have an account with.

Talking of which, I received an email from “PayPal” this morning telling me that somebody from some random IP address had attempted to access my account. Of course they did! Anyway, the email was slightly more convincing that the usual rubbish that you get but the login URL was obviously totally bogus. I decided to click on it anyway and received the rather large warning as shown below:

foxphish.jpg

This is a really nice method of showing that you’re an idiot for clicking on obvious phishing emails but also handy because the buggers are getting more and more devious as time goes by and you never know – they might start producing convincing mails. Obviously there are many people using the internet that are more naive about such things and so this would help them a great deal.

I have no idea how accurate it is at discovering these sites but it did work with this one.

Oh, and if you’re wondering why I’m searching for “Black Dyke”, well they’re a Brass Band not a large Jamaican lady in dungarees.

3 thoughts on “Attack of the Phish

  1. Oh, and if you’re wondering why I’m searching for “Black Dyke”, well they’re a Brass Band not a large Jamaican lady in dungarees.

    yeah sure, we believe you..

    headsup: when I tried preview comment, got this error:
    Parse error in template ‘Comment Preview Template’: with no

    Like

  2. Thanks for the head’s up Demon – I must admit to never using the preview myself and I’ve probably buggered up the template at somepoint messing about with it ;¬)

    MT has stripped out the tags you’ve used in the comment, but I can see them in the email notification I got. I’ll look into it when I get time

    Like

Leave a Reply

