Broken the Flickr API

You may have noticed that this site had an outage last week. This was a scheduled server move and my hosts moved all my files across to a new server. I then had to update my DNS settings for my domains so that everyone could see my site again.

This worked OK, on the whole, but I’ve found that I can no longer blog my photos from Flickr and I’m buggered if I can find out why. It’s the same with the automagic links posts I get from del.icio.us – they don’t work any longer either.

It’s weird – all my files are in the same place! The permissions are set correctly and the server has the required software installed for this to work. But, it doesn’t. Flickr thinks that I don’t know the path the cgi-bin – which I do – and my del.icio.us posts just silently fail to do anything.

I’ve been meaning to change the layout of the site for a while, and perhaps set up a proper photoblog, so perhaps this is a good time to do so. Expect some changes soon, and hopefully one or too more posts than I’ve been doing lately.

2 thoughts on “Broken the Flickr API

  1. You could offer an RSS 2 version of your feed too. Atom feeds never seem to allow me to read the comments from within entries in Omea, whereas RSS 2 ones mostly do.

    Do you have any plans for the front of the site?

    Like

  2. I’ll look into the RSS2 thing – not really put much effort into the feed to be honest. It’d be good to offer both formats for sure. I think I could change the feed template to allow the comments in atom though – I’ll see if it’s possible as I know that the default templates are a bit crap.

    I’m going to be sticking a photoblog on the site root, linked to my flickr account somehow. I’ll possibly try a few more templates with this blog and make some small changes (header images etc) but nothing major. I really don’t have the time anymore to be spending hours fiddling with code ;¬)

    Like

Leave a Reply

